eGym: “Make the Gym Work for Everybody!”
Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer (right), co-founder and CEO of eGym, with co-founder and CTO Florian Sauter. © eGym

eGym: “Make the Gym Work for Everybody!”

The Munich startup eGym has its own specially designed training devices that are networked with an app and are now used in approximately 650 fitness studios in Germany and other European countries. The eGym Trainer app, which makes it possible for users to track their training history and results, can be found in more than 750 studios – within just a few years, a significant portion of the market has decided to work with eGym. And the company from the Bavarian capital city is continuing to grow rapidly! eGym has now stepped up their expansion into other European countries, and the team has long since exceeded 200 employees. We talked with founder Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer about eGym’s success story.

Pretty much everyone has gone down the embarrassing and expensive route of becoming a member of a fitness studio – and after enthusiastically working out for three or four weeks, slump back down on the sofa instead. After fighting back a guilty conscience, you decide to completely ignore the membership and never go back to the studio ever again. eGym’s vision is to change that state of affairs with their motto: “We want the gym to work for everyone!” With their technology and completely redefined training program, the Munich-based founders are looking pretty good in the highly competitive fitness market where they have been active since late 2012.

eGym’s story began in a slightly rundown university fitness studio at New York’s Columbia University: it was the first time founder Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer had ever gone to a fitness studio. The facilities cover three underground floors – there are no windows, no fresh air, and the equipment looks years out of date. Philipp’s athletic activities had been limited to soccer up to that point, and despite being skeptical at first, he gave it a try. A friend took him along and showed him how to work out properly. Philipp quickly realized that without his friend’s help, he probably would have done almost everything wrong. He also noticed that the majority of people in the studio were indeed doing most things incorrectly.

The secret to success: sports science and the right tools

Back in Germany, the eGym founder went to the nearest fitness studio and became a member, still motivated from his experience in the US. That made it all the more frustrating for him to find out there was such a lack of guidance and new ideas here, and he quickly threw in the towel. Then one day, he decided to do something about the outdated, standardized fitness studio concept himself and to revolutionize the market. He first got his co-founder and CTO Floral Sauter on board. At that point, both were at CDTM (Center for Digital Technology and Management) and the two then started the eGym project based on the company’s credo: “We want the gym to work for everybody!”

To make the project scientifically sound, Florian Eibl joined the team as their Head of Sports Science. Together, the three refined their new concept:

“What was most important to us was to make everyone involved in a fitness studio – members, trainers and owners – more successful. Our objective from the very beginning has been to help members reach their training goals faster and more reliably, to give trainers tools to improve the quality of their services and – last but not least – to support the owners on all levels of their value added chain. That means: more new members, reducing the cancellation rate and increasing earnings with additional revenue.”

said Philipp.

A vision needs an inspiring environment

The young entrepreneurs feel completely at home in the environment offered by CDTM. According to Philipp, one of the most important things offered is the entrepreneurial mindset imparted by a range of mentors and their colleagues.

The first round of financing with HTGF

What the fitness visionaries needed first was the necessary amount of change in their pockets. In the beginning, High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) took them under their wing. Philipp revealed that HTGF’s faith and willingness to take a risk was pivotal for the success that followed for the Munich-based startup. It was only after their first successful year on the market (2013) that it became easier to receive additional financing:

“There are new challenges that come up of course, since growth investors’ needs are quite different than those of early-stage investors.”

Since then, the company has grown enormously and now has, in addition to their headquarters in Munich, a second office in Berlin. The founders want to take advantage of what both cities have to offer instead of being limited to just one location. Philipp explained that while Berlin’s advantage is advanced experience in consumer internet services, Munich is a step ahead when it comes to qualified staff thanks to its universities. As a result, development of the eGym Fitness app is performed in the country’s capital city, while their employees in Munich focus on machine software and B2B.

If you ask the founders about their plans for the future, it quickly becomes apparent that their eGym journey has only just begun. Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer:

“We are constantly developing new, innovative products to reach our grand vision: a fully networked training space that works for every member. Moreover, we are also pushing ahead with further internationalization. At the beginning of this year, we opened an office with an eGym showroom in New York.”

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

eGym: „Make the gym work for everybody!“
Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer (rechts), Mitgründer und CEO von eGym, mit Co-Founder und CTO Florian Sauter. © eGym

eGym: „Make the gym work for everybody!“

Das Münchner Startup eGym hat seine eigens konzipierten Kraftgeräte, die via App vernetzt sind, bereits in circa 650 Fitnessstudios in Deutschland und dem europäischen Ausland gebracht. Die eGym Trainer App, die den User Trainingsverlauf und -erfolge nachvollziehen lässt, findet man sogar in über 750 Studios – damit hat sich innerhalb weniger Jahre bereits ein signifikanter Teil des Marktes für eGym entschieden. Und das Unternehmen aus der bayerischen Landeshauptstadt wächst fleißig weiter! Inzwischen expandiert eGym verstärkt ins europäische Ausland. Mittlerweile umfasst das Team weit über 200 Mitarbeiter. Über die Erfolgsgeschichte von eGym haben wir mit Gründer Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer gesprochen.

Fast jeder von uns hat schon einmal die Peinlichkeit erfahren, ein teures Fitnessstudio-Abo abzuschließen, um nach voll motivierten drei bis vier Wochen der regelmäßigen Schinderei wieder das Sofa vorzuziehen. Nach ein paar Anflügen von schlechtem Gewissen wird dieses Abo dann auch gänzlich verdrängt und man geht nie wieder in besagtes Studio. Die Vision von eGym ist etwas an diesem Zustand zu ändern frei nach dem Motto: „We want the gym to work for everyone!“. Und was soll man sagen, mit Technologie und einem gänzlich neu gedachten Trainingsprogramm machen die Münchner Gründer auf dem hart umkämpften Fitnessmarkt, auf dem sie sich seit Ende 2012 tummeln, eine richtig gute Figur.

Die Geschichte von eGym startet in einem leicht heruntergekommenen Uni-Fitnessstudio der Columbia University in New York: Es ist der erste Studiobesuch im Leben von Gründer Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer. Die Einrichtung erstreckt sich über drei Geschosse unter der Erde – es gibt keine Fenster, die Luft steht und die Geräte machen den Eindruck, als hätten sie ihre besten Jahre bereits lange hinter sich. Trotz anfänglicher Skepsis lässt sich Philipp, dessen sportliche Aktivitäten sich bis dato auf Fußballspielen beschränkt hatten, auf das Experiment ein.  Ein Freund, der ihn mitgenommen hat, zeigt ihm, wie man richtig trainiert und schnell stellt Philipp fest: Ohne diese Hilfe hätte er höchstwahrscheinlich so gut wie alles falsch gemacht. Zusätzlich fällt ihm auf: Ein Großteil der Menschen im Studio macht tatsächlich das meiste falsch.

Erfolgsrezept: Sport Science und die richtigen Tools

Zurück in Deutschland, macht sich der eGym-Gründer auf in das nächste Fitnessstudio und meldet sich an. Die Motivation aus den USA schwingt noch mit. Dumm nur, dass es ihm hier an Beratung und Abwechslung derart mangelt, dass er bereits nach kurzer Zeit frustriert das Handtuch wirft. Bis zu dem Tag, an dem er beschließt, selbst etwas gegen das angestaubte 0815-Konzept von Fitnessstudios zu tun und den Markt zu revolutionieren. Dafür holt er sich Mitgründer und CTO Florian Sauter an Bord, beide sind zu diesem Zeitpunkt am CDTM und gemeinsam starten sie das Projekt eGym unter dem firmeneigenen Credo: „We want the gym work for everybody!“

Um das Ganze wissenschaftlich fundiert aufziehen zu können, kommt Florian Eibl als sportwissenschaftlicher Leiter mit an Bord. Mit ihm gemeinsam feilen die Gründer am neuen Konzept:

„Es ging uns vor allem darum, alle Beteiligten rund ums Fitnessstudio – Mitglieder, Trainer und Betreiber – erfolgreicher zu machen. Unser Anspruch war es von vornherein, den Mitgliedern dabei zu helfen, ihre Trainingsziele schneller und zuverlässiger zu erreichen, den Trainern Tools zur Erhöhung der Betreuungsqualität an die Hand zu geben und – last but not least – die Betreiber auf allen Stufen ihrer Wertschöpfungskette zu unterstützen. Das bedeutet: Mehr neue Mitglieder, Absenkung der Kündigungsquote und Erhöhung der Umsätze durch Zusatzerlöse.“

sagt Philipp.

Eine Vision braucht ein inspirierendes Umfeld

Im Umfeld, das das CDTM den jungen Gründern bietet, fühlen sie sich pudelwohl. Mit das Wichtigste ist laut Philipp das unternehmerische Mindset, das hier auch durch diverse Mentoren und Mitstreiter vermittelt wird.

Mit dem HTGF zur ersten Finanzierung

Zunächst benötigen die Fitness-Visionäre allerdings das nötige Kleingeld.  Zu Beginn greift ihnen der High-Tech Gründerfonds (HTGF) unter die Arme. Dessen Vertrauen und Mut zum Risiko beschreibt Philipp als entscheidend für den späteren Erfolg des Münchner Startups. Erst nach einem ersten erfolgreichen Jahr am Markt (2013) wird es leichter, weitere Finanzierungen zu bekommen:

„Aber es gibt dann natürlich neue Herausforderungen, da Wachstums-Investoren ganz andere Anforderungen haben als Early-Stage-Investoren”.

Mittlerweile ist das Unternehmen massiv gewachsen und hat zusätzlich zum Hauptsitz in München ein zweites Büro in Berlin. Die Founder wollen damit die Vorteile der beiden Städte nutzen anstatt sich auf einen Standort festlegen zu müssen. Während Berlin, wie Philipp sagt, in Sachen Consumer Internet mehr Erfahrung und dadurch Vorteile besitzt, hat München dank seiner Universitäten in Sachen Fachpersonal die Nase vorn. So wird die eGym Fitness App in der Hauptstadt entwickelt, während sich die Mitarbeiter an der Isar um die Maschinensoftware kümmern und den Schwerpunkt auf B2B legen.

Fragt man die Gründer nach ihren Plänen für die Zukunft, bemerkt man schnell, dass die Vision von eGym noch lange nicht am Ende angelangt ist. Philipp Roesch-Schlanderer:

„Wir entwickeln kontinuierlich neue, innovative Produkte für die Realisierung unserer großen Vision, der voll vernetzten Trainingsfläche, die für alle Mitglieder funktioniert. Darüber hinaus treiben wir natürlich den weiteren Ausbau unserer Internationalisierung voran. Zu Beginn dieses Jahres haben wir ein Büro mit eGym Showroom in New York eröffnet.”

Um unsere Webseite optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmst Du der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen findest Du in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close